Blue Bear Cabin 
Your Subtitle text

Guest Reviews


                                      We value the feedback we receive from our guests!
________________________________________________________________________________________________________


March 24-28, 2017;  Wonderful weather in 60's-70's and only rained at night.  We spent time together, explored Black Mountain, hiked Catawba Falls, some shopping in Asheville , played games for hours at the Pinball Museum, spent an entire day at the Biltmore.  We enjoyed the friendly ladies at the Gateway Eatery, the turkeys and peepers making noise and a Piliated Woodpecker!
Enjoyed hanging on the back porch watching the mountains and the fog roll in in the morning.  Favorite moments included laughter with the family on the back deck, the roller coaster feeling heading down the driveway, climbing Catawba Falls, Pinball Wizard at the Pinball Museum and the Biltmore was awesome!  We all loved the cabin !!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 21-24, 2017;  Very nice temps 50's-60's.  We hiked, ate, drank and laughed a lot!  This is the most awesome cabin!!  We loved it, loved the decorations -  it felt like home!!!  We would go out during the day but could not wait to get back to the cabin - it was so nice!   Favorite moments included when my nephew fell in the water at Crabtree Falls and finally getting to the top of Mount Mitchell!  It was beautiful!  (But in most places it is not "winter" in March). 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 17-19, 2017;  Temps in the high 50's and lows in 30's.   Visited the Biltmore Estate and Winery for the day and ended with dinner at the Grove Park Inn.  Amazing food, view and the best company to share it with.  Lots of great memories made!  Favorite moments included relaxing by the fireplace, sipping wine and enjoying the down time.  Sitting on the deck with the sun on our faces, sipping our adult beverages.  We definitely plan on spending more time here - the cabin is awesome! 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
January 20-23, 2017;  Cold and Rainy weather.  Visited Biltmore and winery, had breakfast at the Blue Mountain Biscuit Company (yummy) and shopping in town of Black Mountain.   Went to Asheville for breweries, Grove Hall, BBQ and pottery.  Dined at My Fathers Pizza.   Enjoyed cooking together and having wine by the fireplace.  Coffee together on the porch!  LOVED it all! Met a local potter, lovely policeman in Black Mtn, just helping with directions and lots of really friendly local folks!  People who let us  borrow their Ingles savings cards !   Favorite moments were grilling steaks on the back porch, counting bears and lady bugs, being invited to a local potter's home studio, quiet mornings on the porch with coffee!    This was the most inviting and cozy home for a getaway.  We may even bring our kids back in the summer!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
January 12-15, 2017;  Cool temps but we just missed the snow!!   Relaxed and slept a lot, enjoyed the beautiful view on the porches, listened to music, danced, and grilled steaks!  Went into Asheville for a couple of hours and couldn't wait to jut get back "home" to the cabin!   Saw no bears but lots of lady bugs.  Neighbor's dog peaked across the top of the hill.  Checked out Lake Lure, Lke Winebego, Chimney Rock and Grandfather mountain.  Favorite moments were cooking breakfast and drinking coffee on the back porch.   Didn't feel much need to leave this beautiful cabin.  Attention to detail, décor, woodwork and love felt in every corner. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 22 - 29, 2016;  Temps in the 50's/60's in daytime, 30's at night, foggy, misty, sunny.   We enjoyed Christmas time together and all the food, fun and friendship.  Loved all the decorations (left one for you!). Candlelight trip to Biltmore, Asheville, Black Mtn, climbed Chimney Rock, etc... Not many creatures but ladybugs and birds.  Favorite moments were seeing our family together, the mountains and stars, relaxing, eating - all of it!  Don't want to leave!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 4-6, 2016;  Cool at night but warmed to 60's during the day.   We relaxed, friends cooked, toured the outdoors, road down the Blueridge Parkway, and went to downtown Asheville.  Favorite times was all the time with our best friends. Thank you!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 16-23, 2016;  Temps in mid 70's to low 80's during the days and 60's at night.  Colors gorgeous.  Ate and talked and talked.  Went to the Straightaway Café, walked the dogs.  I am thankful to my daughter and son in law for making me welcome in their beautiful home and mountains.  Saw thousands of lady bugs, turkeys and yellow butterflies, numerous honey bees.  Went to John Denver Tribute concert at the White Horse Saloon in Black Mtn.    Loved Straightaway Café-good food and dogs came too. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 16-20, 2016;  Beautiful cabin in the mountains and cool in am and warm in pm.  I was invited to visit together with my soon to be 81 sister from Florida for a week and it gave me time to visit her in this beautiful cabin in the black mountains.  We have not stopped talking since we both arrived.  Walked the small town and had a great lunch in the park close to the cabin.  Brought their two dogs and we relaxed in the park, so quiet and cool and pretty.  Lunch was a pastrami on rye my favorite.  (Dark City Deli in Black Mtn!)  The two beagles, Dominic and Joey took care of them while their owners went zip lining.  We baked dog cookies for them (they loved them) and had a delicious dinner and talked and talked for hours.  Memories are so valuable.  Enjoy every minute in a nice place.  My favorite times always is with my sister, but in a beautiful place and will be eternally grateful to my dearest relatives for taken care that I was rested taking me to see the beautiful mountains. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 12-15, 2016; Typical fall weather with warm days and cool nights.  We visited Mt Mitchell, Lake Lure (don't miss the flowering bridge garden), Catawba Falls, Asheville shops and restaurants, Stepps Apple Farm, and lots of relaxing and good eating.  Tried out the checkerboard downstairs.  The Pinball museum in Asheville is also fun.   Saw two deer, lots of butterflies in the garden.   This was a vacation!  Thanks for the pumpkin Bread  -  Really Yummy!   Favorite moments included the view from the deck, all the lovely mountain views when driving around.  The cabin itself, filled with so many interesting things that carried out a bear motif.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 7 - 10, 2016;  We arrived as Hurricane Mathew made landfall.  40 mile an hour winds and high temps were 75 degrees with lows 65, and some nights the lows were 45 degrees!  We visited Biltmore House, downtown Asheville, hiked Catawba Falls-awesome!!   Ate at Trailhead Restaurant, Jerusalem Café, My Fathers Pizza, and Straightaway Café - all yummy!  Downtown Black Mountain.   Saw a few deer in the back yard, lots of birds, and were hoping to see a bear.   Did a lot of relaxing and enjoying the view!  Just family time!   Favorite moments included coffee on the porch, the Biltmore, petting zoo and waterfall!   We loved our stay and wish we had more time here!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 22 - 25, 2016;  Weather was perfect mid 80's cooler at night.  We relaxed!!  Drove to Black Mountain and Asheville.  Went to Straightaway Café (Great Place).  Hiked to Catawba Falls (Beautiful!).  Went to Lake Lure-disappointed in Larkins on the Lake.  Chimney Rock is the cutest-definitely go!   Saw black squirrel, 2 yellow butterflies, wild turkeys.  Also found I have a classmate close to the cabin.   Relaxed and turned 55 years old.   Loved the Cabin!  Sitting on the deck!!  Thank you so very much for sharing your home.  It's beautiful - would love to come back again!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 31-September 4, 2016;  Sunny, warm, rainy, cold, sunny & perfect weather.  Visited Biltmore, hiked, and some Asheville nightlife.   Didn't see a lot of wildlife, a couple of deer crossing the road and lots of turkeys.  Did a lot of relaxing and it was not hard to do here in this beautiful cabin!   
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 30-August 6, 2016;  Hot and rainy and sunny weather.  We did ziplining, hiking, breweries, playground with the kids and shopping. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 24-27, 2016;  Beautiful weather, cool evenings, sunny warm days.  Enjoyed the local shops, visited Linville Falls and caverns.  Went to the peak of Mt Mitchell and enjoyed the deck every morning and evening.  Saw some beautiful new birds we've not seen before.  Enjoying family time and the beautiful nature that surrounds us.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 11-18, 2016;  Warm, Sunny only rained Wednesday.  Our plan was to explore the mountains!  Mt Mitchell, caving, tubing, Biltmore, Cherokee Reservation, Hiking, more hiking..  Spent 2 days at Sliding Rock and Looking Glass Falls; Mt Mitchell and Blue Ridge Parkway; Trout Fishing at the Trout Farm on 80... Took 1 minute to catch 4 big Trout!  Zipline in Barnardsville.  Saw deer, turkeys, rabbits, squirrels (no Bears) :-(     Did go to Asheville Zoo and saw two bears and otters - Fun!   Daughter saw a hummingbird here at the cabin!!  We ate ice cream every day!!  Gem Mining near Little Switzerland. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 4-11, 2016; Great weather, warm, sometimes hot, and evenings cool.  We did Gem Mining in Chimney Rock, Blue Ridge Parkway, Mount Mitchell, Catawba Falls, Biscuit Company, Fresh (Pizzas and salads), lots of sitting on the deck, a little shopping, a little sewing, a lot of reading and a lot of photography.  Had good family time but we also saw a BEAR in the garden and a BOBCAT just down the lane, birds, butterflies and lizards!   Wonderful !!  Favorite moments included photographing the very friendly bear!!! The views from the Blue Ridge Parkway!  Trudging up the steps at Chimney Rock and realizing that the grandchildren (age 7 & 4) were already waving at us from the top - the waving to family in the UK on the webcam. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
May 28-30, 2016; Awesome weather!  Lower 80's during the day and higher 60's at night.  Our main purpose was to meet friends.  We visited Mount Mitchell and sunset was awesome.  Learned why it is called Blue Mountains.  Next was Biltmore which was grand and awesome. 


_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 17-24, 2016; Mostly sunny in mid 60's, low 70's .  Exception was Sunday when we had light snow.  We climbed GreyBeard mountain to the top.  Asheville to eat and drink. Went to the gym in Black Mountain twice - make sure you bring your own towel. Watched lots of March Madness- Go Tarheels!  Surprising saw little wildlife, few birds, no bears. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 27 - January 3, 2016;  Perfect weather unseasonably warm, some rain, lots of sun, great for porch time!  We did lots of eating & relaxing and enjoying the beautiful views - some walking and enjoying Black Mountain.  We read books, talked, laughed, and played games.   Watched football, movies and just enjoyed each other and all the peacefulness of the mountains!
Met some of the nicest people in town shops and restaurants.  Loved the Veranda, Lookout Brewery and Southern Biscuit Co.    We were very productive with being cozy and relaxed -  Blue Bear is the absolute ideal place to rest, rejuvenate and reconnect.   Wish we had more time here - we'll be back !!
Love the setting of the cabin, the décor, the authentic log cabin, holiday decorations, especially the massive porch and comfy beds and furniture and fireplace and open setting - NO complaints or wish fors !!
We love Black Mountain and Blue Bear Cabin!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 22- 28, 2015;  Weather lows in the 30s and highs in the 60's - Perfect!  Toured Black Mountain and ate at Phil's BBQ -Yummy!  Traveled the Blue Ridge Parkway , Mt Mitchell hiked from the summit to Mt Craigs (Snow!).  My Father's Pizza- Yummy!  Asheville Farmburger!  Blue Ridge Biscuit Company - Chimney Rock, Ole's Guacomoles, Red Rocker Inn for Thanksgiving lunch - Yummy!   Montreat Rainbow Rd Orange Trail - confusing?    Catawba Falls is a must !  Black Mountain Ale House - all the restaurants were great!    Saw Rabbit but no Bears :-(     The cabin is perfect  - this is our 2nd tim here and we will be back.
Favorite moments included hiking fro Mt Mitchell to Mt Craig - it was tough but the views were awesome.  Catawba falls was beautiful its an easy climb and you cross the river a few times - Fun !   Wet feet....   Spending time in this cabin has been a blessing.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

November 16-18, 2015;  Weather in the 50's - 60's, its been cloudy except raining today. Having a little time to self before making our way down to Spartenburg, SC to visit family.  Did the Trolly Tour in Asheville (Larry our guide as fantastic) became acquainted with the town of Black Mtn and our cabin.   Climbed Chimney Rock, ate at Lastrada next to Lake Lure, Toured Biltmore estates.
Saw deer, turkeys, no bears.  Met people from Maine and Florida.  Favorite moments was Chimney Rock a must!  Snuggling on the couch with husband, eating snacks and watching a movie with the fireplace lit.  We loved the cabin and hope to return again.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 7 - 14, 2015;  Highs in the 70's during the day, lows 40's at night, windy.   Drove through Blue Ridge Parkway.  Went through the shops in Black Mountain.  Saw the Looking Glass Falls and hiked to Moores Cove Falls Mt Pisgah and saw the French Broad River.  Saw no wildlife, meeting wih Uncle Steve on the way back to Nashville.  Restaurants - My Father's Pizza on Cherry St, Black Mountain Bakery on Church St, Blue Ridge Biscuit Company on State St (highway 70) .  All Excellent!  Went back with the dogs to see the Looking Glass Falls and Kilo(dog) was very intrigued by the falls.  She is very scared of loud noises, so it was a surprise she loved it so much.  Me and my sister Jen went behind the Moores Cove Falls. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 11 - 18, 2015; Cool evenings and warm days.  Spent several days in Black Mountain, went to Blowing Rock, Blue Ridge Parkway to see gorgeous leaves.  Visited Hot Springs and Asheville.  Had lovely meals at the cabin and out.   Lake Lure dinner at Larkins.  Saw lots of wild turkeys.  Favorite moments included shopping in Black Mtn, lots of unique gifts to bring back to Florida.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 6 - 10, 2015;  Perfect weather in the 70's.  Visited Biltmore, Mt Mitchell, saw leaves peak all beautiful - have many photos to relive the visit.  Favorite moments included sitting on the balcony chatting, catching up on old times, seeing the beautiful  scenery and leaves changing.   Biltmore was amazing!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 1 - 4, 2015; Weather was even more rainy!  Cold front pushing in with rain from the north.  Celebrated our 35th Wedding anniversary!!  Went to Tobacco Barn Antiques, My Fathers Pizza, Artisan Market, Tops for Shoes (bought rain boots!), Corner Kitchen.  Walked with our sweet dog Brody, enjoyed the beautiful rain, cabin and mountains.  Everyone we met was so pleasant and cheerful!  Thankfully no bears.  We love the peaceful off the grid (almost) surroundings.  Favorite moments included the desk in the loft is a beautiful place to sit and study Gods world while looking out at the trees in the rain.  God is so good!  We hear the sunset view from the porch is great!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 25 - 27, 2015; Weather was relentlessly raining.  Wendy, Joe, Bradley and David.  Ate, drank and was merry!  Met with friends from home who live in Asheville, and just enjoying each other.  Favorite moments was being together!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 18 -24, 2015; Perfect weather 70's, 80's daytime, comfortable 50's, 60's nighttime.  We are the Redmands (me and hubby) and our 6 month old furry son Buckner all the way from New Hampshire!  Visited our friend from GA who drove to see us.
Visited Biltmore Estate, Black Mtn downtown, Asheville, Cummings Cove Golf course, Blue Ridge Biscuit Co (amazing), Kelwins ice cream/chocolates (amazing) Black Mtn Ale House, Gateway Eatery, Sake, Phils BBQ pit, My fathers Pizza, Gourmet Chip Co (Asheville Amazing), used the grill to make burgers, read and napped, colored, rented a DVD from Ingle's, sat on the porch every night and watched bats come out.  Saw a deer family out back on our last night.  Bats at night and many lizards out front.  Hubby saw two albino white squirrels at the golf course! 
Best place we've rented by far - love the décor and soft comfy quilts!  This cabin was truly a dream!  The 10 miles of winding roads was a little much for my tummy, but so worth it to stay at this fabulous getaway!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 9 - 16, 2015; Beautiful Weather!  Drove around the Black Mountain & Asheville area.  Visited Biltmore House and fell in love with the area.  Saw two bear cubs on the Biltmore Estate.  Looked into retirement villages in the area.  Enjoyed the fabulous view from the back deck with a glass of wine.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 22 - 29, 2015;  Fantastic Weather!!  Low 80's during the day and upper 50's at night.  Sunny!   The Browns from NJ.
We looked for land to buy.  Shopped in Black Mountain and Asheville.  Drank our share of local beer.  Napped in the afternoon on the back porch.  Visited our son, daughter in law and grand dog.  Slept like the dead.  Saw a few assorted lizards but sadly no bears.  We are looking for land to build our retirement home.   Purchased a 3.24 acre plot of land on a nearby mountain!  Our future home!   Planning a return trip to Blue Bear Cabin sometime in April.  Thanks for sharing this wonderful place!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 15 - 19, 2015; Weather was perfect ! The Babbidge Family..   We Tubed down the river, zip-lined through the moutains, swam in the lake, went to the Biltmore House, ate dinner eVue 1913 (Grove Park Inn), shopped in Chimney Rock, spent every second with family, and most of all enjoyed the peace/quiet of the mountains.  We met two other dogs Daisy and Sampson.  Our favorite moments are we counted bears as a family, boys vs girls and we came up with the same number, remarkably 180 bears !!!
Emma took amazing pictures at the Biltmore, we ate at a 5 star restaurant in Asheville, Tanner has a blast zip lining, Mommy enjoyed waking up to silence and drinking coffee on the back porch.  Ruby enjoyed running collarless and Daddy enjoyed relaxing with his family and making memories that will last forever!   House is absolutely beautiful and we wouldn't change it for the world!!  BEAUTIFUL !!!!   Thank you for letting us stay I your beautiful cabin.  This cabin beats a hotel by a million.   The view is wonderful.  Thank you for sharing your home.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 7 - 15, 2015;  Amazing weather !  The Treschl 5 and the grandpa's dog freckles.   We hiked, fished, disc golf, tubing, cooking out and relaxing.  Favorite moments - Everything!   Driveway was a bear but made for a great exercise - 10 times up and down justified a few cocktails and great food.  Your home was so lovely - we enjoyed every moment - all was wonderful - Thank you.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 1 - 8, 2015;  Weather highs in the 90's!!  lows in the 60's.  The Titus Family.   We hiked Chimney Rock, Pisgah Nat'l Forest, Sliding Rock, Looking Glass, Hooker Falls, Moore Cove Falls, Hickory Nut Falls, Montreat Mt, Greybeard Mtn, chilled at Lake Lure and Douglas Lake, toured Biltmore Estate, Asheville downtown, Black Mtn Sourwood Festival.  Over indulged at the Bistro, Stable Café and Kilwins.   Met many wonderful North Carolina people.    Favorite times was finishing off the busy days by relaxing on the back porch enjoying the beautiful sunsets !!  :-)  Asheville and your home is just what the Dr ordered!  The accommodations were extraordinary !  The beautiful mountain, lakes and creeks were reviving.  Precious time spent with family, wonderful memories!!  Thanks again.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 19 - 23, 2015;  Weather was Hot ! Three cousins from Alamance county for a cousins retreat.   We relaxed, rejuvenated and renewed.... in a serious way.   The rest..... "what happens in the mountains, stays in the mountains".  Met lots of nice folks.   Some favorite moments was the live music at Straightaway Café and swimming at Lake Lure.   FAVORITE - porch time - sunset evenings breakfast, lunch, dinner, etc...  Again the Porch !!!!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 12 - 19, 2015;  Weather was hot during the day (85-90) but cool mornings and mostly sunny.  The Harrells from Nashville, TN & daughters 7 & 13 and black lab (age 3).   Our 2nd stay at Blue bear !!
We hiked Catawba Falls, Linville Falls, Montreat Look Out Trail and did day trips to Asheville, Brevard, Mt Pisgah as well as shopping in Black Mountain.  Our favorite moments included picking blackberries along the road here, the stars at night and sliding rock. 
Your home is wonderful - thanks for sharing it (AGAIN!).  It hasn't aged abit in 2 years - and the back porch screens were a nice addition (new in 2013?).   It was a terrific week for our family. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 28 - 30, 2015; Temps 55 in am and low 80's during the day - very pleasant compared to Florida.  Went to Lake Lure to swim and enjoyed watching the grandchildren flying out of the water chute - nice warm water.  Had lunch at Larkens on the lake, and very good food.  We went to the WNC Nature Center near Asheville  and saw a lot of native animals over 42 acres. The girls had a good time, had lunch at Olive Garden.  What a wonderful relaxing time!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

June 7 - 21, 2015:  Record High Temps!  Did a lot of sightseeing at Black Mountain, Chimney Rock, Montreat, Asheville, Boone and Blowing Rock.  So many friendly, nice people and one black bear on highway 9.  Enjoyed the beautiful mountains and spending time with family and celebrating our birthdays! 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

May 23-25, 2015:  Memorial Day!   Perfect weather.  Hiking Chimney Rock, traveled Blue Ridge Parkway, visited Biltmore and hiking 6.6 miles at Dupont !  We played and walked our dog Brutus, found bear tracks and snake skins shed.  We also heard a hissing and think it was a snake. 
Perfect for all of us (Brutus too).   Just a recommendation;  fence the backyard for dogs?  We loved, loved, loved our stay.  ThANKS FOR THE GREAT STAY !

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
February 27 -March 2, 2015;  Snowed up to 7" 1 1/2 days before arrival but no snow while visiting, temps were in the 30's and 50's.   We visited Biltmore, Asheville, and nearby restaurants, hiked, played cards, watched movies , rested and renewed !
Came from Topsail NC and Cincinnati area of Ohio to meet in the middle.   Great to see our son the navy dentist and spend time together with him and our son & daughter in law.    We had worried the weather and snow would ruin our trip, but they didn't.  Roads were clear and dry and weather dry and cold.   Enjoyed the Downtown Abby collection at the Biltmore and wine tasting.   The Basilica of St Lawrence in Asheville is beautiful inside.   The Wicked Weed Restaurant was a good price and great beer and food.  Had a great weekend together, coming together from different states.   Love gathering with family !
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 27 - January 3, 2015;  Day time temps were in the 50's and at night in the 20's.  Our family from Miami Florida.
We visited French Broad Brewery, Oskar Blues Brewery, and Sierra Nevada Brewery.  Oh, and we had breakfast at Sunny Point Café - Yum!   Don't Miss!  We visited the Grove Park Inn, Home Grown for Lunch :-), and Waynesville.  We visited shops in Asheville, Wicked Weed Brewery, Asheville Brewery, and Green Man Brewery.  We also has snacks at the Thirsty Monk.  We visited Chimney Rock and enjoyed Sour Cream Cake and nice folks at Laura's house - food was ok and service slow.   Had New Year's Dinner at Cucina 24(great recommendation from a bartender), rang in the New Year in the Cabin with plenty of booze and snacks.  We visited Biltmore Estate, had brunch at the Inn, visited the village and tour and tasting at the winery.   Picked up pizza at La Strada in Lake Lure:-)  .  In downtown Asheville had lunch at Early Girl Eatery... it was ok.   Visited Highland Brewery, and dinner at Okie Dokies Smokehouse... delicious jalapeno hushpuppies and ribs. 
Really enjoyed cooking, pizza night, quesadillas, monkeybread & bacon, pork with roasted potatoes, breakfast sandwiches, lasagna, eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuits.   Happy New Year!    Had amazing homemade hot chocolate, donuts and leftovers :-)

Some of our favorite moments included getting lost and coming down the driveway at night!  Getting lost was part of the adventure.   Not getting lost and seeing the Gingerbread Houses at Grove Park Inn!  Walking around town and telling great stories, making memories.   Making it to the top of Chimney Rock, brunch at Biltmore Estate and music at the Highland Brewery. 

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful cabin.  The drive through the mountains was a bit more than we bargained for since we wanted to visit so many places, but now that a week has gone by, we guess it wasn't so bad.   Thanks for the gorgeous decorations, bear décor, comfy sheets, well stocked kitchen, clean cabin, and the memories we were able to make here.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 20 -27, 2014;  Our family came from Florida;  We went snowtubing at Wolfridge, hiking at Chimney Rock, took Old Time photos at the town of Chimney Rock with the family and went to Biltmore Estate, and had a beautiful Christmas together (the tree was perfect - thank you !)    We cooked dinners together and the cabin is wonderful, the view is amazing on clear sunny days.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 26-December 1, 2014; Temperatures ranged from 30's to 50's.  First two days some snow, the rest were sunny and clear skys!  We came from florida.   Visited the Biltmore Estate, Catawba Falls and Chimney Rock and Black Mountain.   We saw some deer.  Did some light cooking and grilling.   Favorite moments included hiking the trails, taking some amazing photos, having a nice quiet Thanksgiving dinner in the cabin.    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - the View, the Quiet.   Thank you for sharing this beautiful home with us!
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 6-11, 2014;  Colder than normal with 40-50s during the days and 40-30s during the night.  Very Windy!  We did Navital Zip Lining and enjoyed the quiet and views from the deck.   Cabin is wonderful!  The driveway is one we will talk about and not be believed!
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 23-25, 2014;  Weather high 60's, nights 40's.  We shopped downtown Black Mountain, toured Montreat, hung out at the cabin walked and hiked.  Red Radish to go "special deserts" were terrific!  Really enjoyed spending time with family-quality time, enjoyed the fireplace, great view and laughed a lot. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 17-21, 2014;  Weather was 60-70's during the days and 30-40's during nights.    We visited the smoky mountains, blue ridge parkway, shopping in Black Mtn.   Some favorite moments were sunsets on the deck and relaxing in the sun.
Amos the dog was sniffing everywhere - took long walks;  eating well.  Loving the quiet.    I know I will be back.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 11 - 13, 2014;  Weather in the high 50's with some rain off and on and fog.   We toured Biltmore, biked, ate at Black Mtn Bistro and Biltmore Bistro.    Some favorite moments were listening to animal/insect sounds on the porch at night, enjoying the coziness of the cabin, biking and hiking.   
Your cabin is absolutely beautiful!  We did not have enough time here.  Love your decorations / décor ! 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 4 -11, 2014;  Weather was sunny, crisp and clear.  The lows from upper 40's - 50's with highs in the 80's.    Hiked Blue Ridge, Dupont forest shopped in Black Mtn and Asheville.  Had Lunch and Dinner in Hendersonville and Black Mtn.   Enjoyed the solitude and quiet.  Read books on the back porch.  Some of our favorite moments were the sunrise and sunset as well as the hikes.
We loved the quiet!  Coming from NJ we were glad to get away from the noise of planes, trains and automobiles not to mention noisy neighbors.  We saw family and hiked a lot.  We didn't see any bears or deer but did see a copperhead snake down in the Dupont Forest.  We love the house and are thinking of this plan for when we move to the area.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

September 6-14, 2014;  From Coatesville, PA.  We visited Chimney Rock Park, Pisgah Forest to see waterfalls, hiked Craggy Gardens trail, toured Bill Graham "The Cove",  the Asheville Art Museum, Black Mountain shops, ate at Father's Pizza, Black Mountain Ale House, Black Mountain Bistro, Trail Head Pub.  We saw two deer in Chimney Rock State Park.   Changed a flat tire on truck, had to go get new tires.  Tire Kingdom in Asheville were very nice people.  Great pricing.
Some of our favorite moments were relaxing on the back porch, playing board games with family.  Drinking morning coffee on the back porch.
The house is perfect!  Very nicely decorated.  Thank you for sharing your home with us.  It is beautiful.  We will be back for sure.  We have been to Black Mountain 4 years in a row on vacation.  We stayed 2 years in High Rock Acres.  Then the house was sold.  We stayed last year in Montreat.  We enjoyed staying more remote again this year.  We hope to relocate here in the near future.  We love this area.  Thank you!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 30 - Sept 1, 2014;  Weather in the 80's.  We went to Black Mountain, Lake Lure, Asheville.  Relaxed and enjoyed the home.  We met a whole lot of nice people everywhere we went!  Favorite moments were spending time with family and being able to hang out at your beautiful cabin!   We enjoyed our stay!  Loved your beautiful home.  Everything was great about the cabin.  Loved the décor!  Very clean and relaxing.  We would love to come back!  We came from NJ to visit our sons who live in N.C. and enjoyed our time with them and their girlfriends at the Blue Bear Cabin.  THANK YOU!
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 3 - 6, 2014;  Weather in the low 80;s and low 60's - PERFECT!  Played golf at Rumbling Bald Resort, visited Black Mountain and hiked the trails at Montreat.  Met Terry at Town Pump, Allison at the Trailhead and the "Spice Lady".  Favorite moments were hanging out with friends at this great cabin. 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
August, 2014;  From Poca WV.  So quiet and secluded!  When the basement is finished it will be our #1 choice in the Asheville Area.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Blue Bear Cabin, Black Mtn. N.C. From Tequesta, FL;  Stayed August 2014
Rating Details: I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. I was very happy with the location. The vacation rental was spotless. The property manager was very helpful. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Peaceful, quiet, picturesque , cozy, warm, and adventurous.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Home away from home... from Denmark;  Stayed July 2014;
With a great view overlooking the mountains, Blue Bear Cabin is the perfect vacation getaway. We were 6 adults staying at the cabin, and the rooms were just right for us all. Black Mountain has ideal shops for buying everything you need for your stay. Hiking is within a short drive and make sure to visit the amazing Lake Lure. Can highly recommend Blue Bear Cabin and Greybeard Rentals
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Summer Weekend.. from Durham, NC; Stayed July 2014;
This was a great weekend! We visited our daughter in Black Mtn and had many trips back and forth...the distance was the only drawback, but we would definitely do this again. We also had a minor struggle determining the wifi pw because the "Cabin Manual" was buried in several magazines and books. We figured it out and I would only suggest that the pw be explicitly posted on the refrigerator. EVERYTHING was really nice and this is our first choice whenever we come back to this area!
________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Amazing secluded 8 miles from town;  from Lake Worth, FL;  Stayed June 2014;
Amazing secluded 8 miles from town fully stocked kitchen - VIEWS! Perfect spot to hide from the world with Black Mountain restaurants off the charts - summer views - pots/pans - hiking near and far - deck spacious - cabin designed well with space to move/closets/drawers - great afternoon rain storms - fans in every room w/air - a great choice! Spent whole month of June - CLEAN!!!!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 1 - June 30, 2014:  Heather, Alan, Zarahew 3 yr old Rhodesian Ridgeback.  Weather was perfect in the 70's- 80's and rain in the afternoon, some great storms later in the day.   Hiked, hiked hiked and ate.  Many trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway and Dupont State Forest - Amazing !  Spent a lot of time hunting waterfalls in Pisgah National Forest.  Spotted a MAMA & Babies BEAR near Creston home area.  YEA !   We love your place here - hope we can return. No issues ! 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
May 22 - 24, 2014:  The Robersons, Gibons, Proctor, Clements, Tabatha including dogs.   Weather was beautiful 80's and evenings with a nice breeze on the deck.  Looking forward to a long nice relaxing stay.  We went to Biltmore and Lake Lure.  We had a great time.  We ate at the Straightaway Cafe and were disappointed because they were out of everything.  Overall everything was great.  We cooked very little, and enjoyed the deck immensly!  Enjoyed just being together- boys played poker and girls enjoyed laughing and cutting up.  The Cabin was GREAT !  We had everything we needed.  The temperature was a little hot out, but we are from Alabama.   Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your home.  We hope to come again.  May God Bless you and yours.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
April 17 - 21, 2014:  The Curtis family from Colorado, Wyoming, Wisconsin & North Carolina.  Weather was low 40's at night and 68 sunny for Easter Sunday.
Visited Asheville, Black Mountain and hiked Chimney Rock Park and Lake Lure.  Toured the Biltmore.  We saw birds, squirrels, rabbits.  Friendly folks in Black Mountain & Asheville.   Beautiful cabin that is comfortable and relaxing.  Enjoyed the outdoors.  Appreciated a good day of rain(green grass and smell of rain).   The deck is enjoyed day and night.  Spending time together as a family was the best.   Thank you for all of the comforts and sharing your home.  Kitchen was well thought out for big family cooking.  Thank you for the pumpkin bread.  Look forward to another visit.  God Bless.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
April 10 - 13, 2014:  Beautiful weather 60's & 70's the entire time.  We are two parents and a 3 yr old.  We antiqued, ate, relaxed and did Biltmore.  We saw turkeys and squirels.  Favorite moments was the Great View from the cabin!    Loved the cabin!  Beautiful decor, great amenities.  Very secluded and nice views. I am sure Spring & Fall are spectacular.  We would certainly stay in this cabin next time we are in Black Mountain.  Thank you for sharing your home with us.  Thanks for the pumpkin bread.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 29-April 2, 2014:  Austin, Carrie, Madison(age 8), Athel & Anita, Jim & Linon, Zal & Tug (dogs);
March was a "lion" and April is a "lamb" - 70's and beautiful.
We did Chimney Rock, shopping in Black Mountain, hiking, driving south on Blue Ridge Parkway, eating at great restaurants.  We assembled the "Blue Bear Cabin" jigsaw puzzle - took 6 adults 2 days lot of fun!   We saw deer, turkey's and grouse.
Relaxed, and enjoyed being together with family.  Favorite moments were Chimney Rock we made it up the stairs (elevator was not operational),.  Enjoyed driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and the spectacular views. 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 15-20, 2013 - Troy & Lisa from Tampa, FL.
Weather cold and rainy except for the day we got here and the last day.
Visited Chimney Rock State Park, The Biltmore Estate, downtown Asheville, part of the Blue Ridge Parkway that was open,
Lookout Trail in Montreat, Catawba Falls Trail in Old Fort. 
Wanted to do Mt Mitchell and Mt Pisgah but the parkway wasn't open due to the weather.
Ate at the Black Mountain Ale House and Straightaway Cafe.   Saw some deer and a beaver.
Favorite moments included wine tasting at the Biltmore Antler Inn Winery, Chimney Rock, and the view off the deck of the cabin-
-wish it had been warm enough to sit out there.
Loved the decor of the cabin - due to the bad weather, we spent a lot of time in it, and the wireless was awesome and we were
able to keep from being bored.  
Thanks for the pumpkin bread and all the brochures!
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 8-12, 2014 - The Stickwoods from Olive Branch, MS and daughter, and 3 grandkids from Swannanoa.
Weather sunny 60's - 70's during the dayand upper 30's at night.  Spent Saturday, Monday & Tuesday just the two of us.  Sunday daughter and grandkids.  Cooked burgers, pancakes for Monday breakfast.  Monday dinner at daughter's, Tuesday dinner at the Artisan after walks in Montreat.  Enjoyed sitting on the porch looking at the stars.  Watched the sunset tonight.
We took our 18 month old granddaughter to count the bears; oh and counting owls over and over again.
Favorite moments included, sitting by the fire, being with family, my wife's quiet enjoyment, lovely secluded cabin, watching "Cosmos" with Tyson, getting to know our youngest granddaughter.
Lovely quiet cabin!   Thanks for the pumpkin bread!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 22-26, 2013 - The Vroegenderveys of Jacksonville, Fla and their "kids" - Caleb, Johah, Abigail & hubby Thomas.
Weather was high in the 50's and 20's low. 
Christmas !  We visited the Grove Arcade (Asheville), ate at Wanpan's Thai in Asheville, hiked Sleepy Gap on the Blue
Ridge Parkway and got lost on the winding roads!
We "hunted down" my son's sailing instructor's brother, Gordon, who owns the Captain's Bookshelves on Page St Asheville.
Christmas memories galore!   Christmas Eve Candle light service at Crossroads Assembly in Asheville was beautiful. 
Loved opening our presents in the loft family room and evenings around the fireplace!
Blue Bear Cabin proved to be a wonderful Christmas destination for us, providing loads of uninterupted family time!
The chilly nights and frosty mornings were great!  We created a game for our grown kids - a bear census of every bear
in the cabin!  (Winner gets a $5 Subway card!  lol)    We hope to come back!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 12-15, 2013 -James & Julie from Charlotte, NC.  Cold in the 30's, rainy.
Visited Biltmore Village Spa, dinner in Asheville.  Our favorite moment was getting engaged by the fireplace!
Thank you so much for allowing us to spend time in your cabin. We had the most relaxing, wonderful weekend!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 23-30, 2013 - The Grays from Florida, Duane, Michelle, Peyton, Grandpa.   Temps were 20's -50's and some snow! We visited Tomahawk Lake, Chimney Rock, Pearson's Falls, Biltmore, Arboretom, Powhatea Lake, Asheville, downtown Black Mountain and Packs Tavern.  We saw Deer, Rabbit, Squirels, Birds.   Moved a tree from the roadway.
Our favorite moments included Pearson's Falls a must see!  Pack's Tavern Thanksgiving Dinner, Arboretum Lego Display and Trails.    We loved our stay.  The cabin was just perfect, the area was great and we even got some snow!  Thank you for sharing your cabin!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 26-28, 2013 - The Reisch family from Columbus, Ohio plus boyfriends & girlfriends.  Weather was in the 50's-60's, sunny, perfect fall weather.  We visited Asheville, watched the sunset on the deck, ate Bertha Reisch's world famous stew, visited Mt Mitchell, practiced bear calling and played multiple games.  Saw no Bears but met musicians that outlined the streets of Asheville, NC.  Our goal was just to have a good time!  Mission Accomplished! :-)
The entire weekend was defiantly filled with memories that will last a life time.  Will come back in the future to explore more.  Overall great experience with the people we love !  Lea
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 3-7, 2013 - Janice & Barney, Parents & Sis.  We mostly relaxed and visited Mt Mitchell and the town of Black Mountain.  We didn't see much wildlife - one turkey on the way here, some birds, squirrels and a few lizards.   We enjoyed our visit and the area.  The pumpkin bread was a pleasant surprise and we had to go to the bakery and buy more.  The cabin was very nice and decorated very nice.  It was a great trip experience .
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 26-29, 2013 - Peter, Maryann & our fuzzy 4 legged papillons.  Temps were in the 70's and low's in the 40's, sunny, beautiful.    We went to the Friday night in Asheville drum circle,  Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, explored Black Mountain, and ate at Tupelo Honey in Asheville, and spoke to a builder about building a home in Catawaba Falls.
We saw running turkeys on our lot in Catawaba Falls Preserve.  We loved every bit of our stay, so peaceful and tranquil - just what we all needed.  Wish we could stay longer but can't wait to come back.  Thank you for sharing your home.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 19-22 - 2013 - Bob & Cindy;  Weather in the 70's, low's 60's.  Did Waterfall hikes, looked for homes for sale.  Now that we have seen the sunset from Blue Bear's porch, we are spoiled and looking for a home with a porch facing west.
Other homeowners and realtors were very friendly.  Our favorite moments were watching the beautiful sunsets from the back porch, hiking Graveyard Fields, yellowstone falls on the Parkway near Brevard.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 15-18 - 2013 - Alan, Natasha, Kiele, & Tally Ho.  Temps in the upper 50's to low 70's from sunny and clear to
cloudy and rainy.  We did Mt Mitchell, Blue Ridge Parkway, Asheville, Folk Art Center, Rattlesnake Lodge Hiking Trail. 
Met lots of new doggie friends on the trails near Asheville.  Favorite moments included Mt Mitchell on a sunny day -
fantastic views!    Thankyou for sharing your beautiful cabin - it was perfect, a wonderful weekend for our family.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 27-August 3 - 2013 - Trey, Susan, Maggie(5), Atticus (Black Lab age 1), and for one night only Mary Frances (11) - we
picked upfrom Camp Crestridge on 8/2.
Temps were in the 75-80's, 60-65 lows, 1 day of rain, few foggy am's, mostly beautiful.
Near Brevard we visited the Brevard Music Center, Moore Cove Falls, Cradle of Forestry.  On Blue Ridge Parkway south of Asheville we visited Graveyard Fields trail/falls, Pisgah Inn Restaurant near MT Mitchell - Setrock Creek Falls, Lake Lure Water Center.   Picking blackberries and seeing baby chicks at Hickory Nut Gap Farm.  Met new friends at Camp
Crestridge.  We spent time Reading, grilling, picking blackberries along the road, planning the next day's hike!
Favorite moments included Setrock Creek Falls is a 90 minute drive from here but was an easy hike, very secluded,
beautiful, and great for our dog.  Near Mt. Mitchell.  Our favorite meal out was Salsa's in Asheville.  And every night at
8pm we enjoyed "the show" - sunset from the back deck!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.  We did lots of driving to get to here and there, but the seclusion was
worth it and what a terrific place for our dog!  It is such a comfortable place and a beautiful setting. We loved it and expect
we'll be back!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 20-26 -2013 - Mike, Kerry, Mara(10) and Tripp(2).  Temperatures ranging from the mid 60's at night to low 90's in
the daytime.  Mixed rain and sun.   We enjoyed Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Biltmore, downtown Black Mountain, but above
all R&R in this awsome cabin!   Saw Salamanders and a few ducks at Lake Lure.   Projects included chasing our 2 year old!
Favorite moments included a day at Lake Lure, soaking in the views off the deck was amazing.
What a great cabin!  Appreciated all the amenities it offered especially the kitchen (with all the items needed for doing
anything  you want) and the deck.  The deck's the highlight of the cabin- keeps you out of the afternoon sun, any rain,
great place to eat and just relax!  We would certainly love the opportunity to come back!  We still have a lot to see and do in the
area!
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 13-20, 2013 - We had intermittent rain, some cool days in 80's warmer humid days.  We did a ziplining/tree top adventure, tubing, horseback riding, hiking around Chimney Rock, Asheville, Lake Lure.  Lots of time on the beautiful deck.
A nice man down Rt 9 let us creek walk on his property.  Saw turkeys, lizards, big toad, bat, fox, deer and bunnies!
Favorite moments were breakfast, dinner, sunsets and a poker tournament on the deck!  A fire pit would be fantastic here!
And we bet the basement will be awsome when its done!  Thanks for your beautiful cabin - fully equipped, gorgeous views. 
Perfect for our families!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 11-13 - 2013 - Michelle, Michael, Rafi, and Sadie(our dog), Vinnik along with Marcia G.  We are from Charlotte.
Thunder showers and sunny days in the 70's.  We relaxed and enjoyed the amazing view from the deck.  Drove into Black
Mountain to sightsee and shop.  Enjoyed Phil's BBQ for lunch.  Very friendly town's people in Black Mountain. Saw no critters.
Enjoyed cooking breakfast and dinners.  Favorite moments was being able to have a nice getaway with family and our dog.
Sadie loved it as much as we did.  By far the most beautiful cabin we have ever stayed in!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 9 -16 - 2013 - George, Janet, Veronica, Margaret, Ryan from Chesterton, IN, Columbus OH, Indianapolis IN.
Weather was in the 80's with lows in 70's.  We hiked, toured Biltmore House (Super Cool!), went to downtown Asheville,
Ghost Tour, ate at local restaurants.  We saw snakes, fox, deer, turkeys, lizards, rabbits, and a giant moth. 
Favorite moments included the Biltmore House, Catawba Falls, Mount Mitchell, Graveyard Falls, and Crabtree Falls.
Had a great time here!  If you love hiking go to the places I recommended here.  We counted 203 bears in the cabin!!
:-)

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
May 26-31 - 2013 - Matt, Michelle + Mandy (4 legged child) from Lawrenceburg, Ky.  Visited Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, Black Mountain, Asheville.  Spent time reading, fishing, porch sitting, and sight seeing. Saw squirrels, and woodpeckers but no bears!
Best find - Straight Away Cafe nearby !  Check their website for live music !

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
April 22-27, 2013 - Mike, Heather & buddy (dog) -  Weather was in the mid 60's and mid 70's and sunny.  40's at night. 
We went gem mining, visited Biltmore, Chimney Rock, shopped in Black Mountain, and drove the Blue Ridge Parkway. 
Buddy was able to accompany us on many of these trips and enjoyed being on vacation.  We saw wild turkeys, bats and lizards.  Enjoyed grilling on the deck.  Loved the Sunsets on the deck and peacefulness of the cabin.  The cabin was
everything and more than what we imagined.  We had a great time and would love to come back again for vacation.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 31-April 6, 2013 - The Gorber's from Indiana.  Frank & Ranae, Sue Curtis, Mom & family dog Jake.  We visited
Chimney Rock, Beautiful Lake Lure, Asheville shopping, great meat market the "Chop Shop" (Charlotte St Asheville Exit
5B off of 40W).  Great dining Apollo Bistro 485 Hendersonville Rd Asheville and Papas & Beer.   We saw Turkeys.  Some
favorite moments included smelling apple pie baking in the oven.  Fire lit nights in this cozy cabin.   We enjoyed the well
equipped kitchen and quality linens.   All of our needs were met.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
March 22-29, 2013 - Kevin & Lynn + our dog Sammie - Weather was chilly for March even got some snow flurries.  Explored
different areas, Asheville, Hendersonville, Lake Lure, Dupont State Forest, Pisgah National Forest.    Met a friendly couple from Chagrin Ohio and shared a nice hike with them.  Looking for relocation potential.  The spring waterfalls were amazing!
We really enjoyed your cabin.   Very cozy and well equipped.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
The 6 of us usually do our tent camping,kayaking and hiking starting in the spring, but this year we decided to do something a little different. I always wanted to stay in a cabin, but it's usually too expensive. But once I did a little research thanks to Greybeards easy website, I was able to find this awesome pet friendly cabin for the 6 of us that makes spliting up the charges so very affordable!! What a nice cabin. Bring food and toilet paper and paper towels and that is all you will need for a perfect vacation. The cabin was so cutely decorated, great fireplace, great porch, games, magazines and yes tv and wifi, and Very comfy beds. There wasn't a complaint at all.The drive in to the cabin is I think 10 miles so make sure you pick up any little necessities, like butter. :) If you want a great long weekend of relaxation, reserve this cabin, you definetly will not be sorry. Oh yeah, make sure you stop in at The artisan Gourmet Market; Coffee/Wine Bar on the way to the cabin.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
February 14 - 18, 2013 - Viciu & Mike -  Weather mid 50's during the day and low 30's for 2 days !  :-)   and teens at night. 
We enjoyed the Folk Art Center, Chimney Rock State Park, Trap Shooting(our favorite).   Visited our favorite shops in Black Mountain.   We didn't see any creatures  - think it was too cold.   Some of our favorite moments included a light dusting of snow!, driving new mountain roads, just looking at the view off the deck.  Sitting in front of the fireplace! 
This was our Christmas gift to each other, and it just so happens we used it on valentines weekend.   
Loved Blue Bear Cabin!!    We will be back!   Love visiting the state parks in the area and looking forward to waterfalls day in Brevard!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
January 17-21, 2013 - Bryant, Cheryl, Jake & Toby  - Summerville, SC.     Temps were in the high 50's and lows in the 20's.  We visited the Biltmore, Black Mountain and Asheville.   Lots of shopping and eating.    We saw a few wild turkeys.   This was our second visit to Blue Bear.   We love everything about your beautiful cabin and the area.  We plan on coming back in the fall to enjoy the autumn colors from the back deck!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 19-21, 2012 - Jones Family - Scott, Daisie, Mo, Mags, Jayce, Leri.  Temps 60's in day and 30's at night.  We did Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, UNC Asheville.  Early Girl Eatery in Asheville Yummie!   Black Mtn Hey Hey Cupcake!  Happy B Day Mo (28th).  We saw a bat and an owl.   Enjoyed relaxing and enjoying the crisp mornings - soo good!   Scott & I walking around "the havens".   Favorite moments including watching our 4 year old climb Chimney Rock!  Exclamation Point, too.  Enjoying the reunion of all the children together - so nice.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 9-11, 2012 - The vetters and LaCoures - Temps in 70's and sunny!  Ran the BMCO 5K with friends, ate at My Fathers Pizza & Black Mtn Ale House & ate dinners here at the house sipping wine while embracing the beautiful views!  Made lots of new friends!  Great little town!  We counted 172 bears in the house! :-)     Every moment was fabulous and we want to make this an annual event with our friends! 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 20-22, 2012 - Lisa Fedele, Tessie Barnes.   Temps in the 50's, clear and sunny.  Enjoyed family and the amazing fall colors.  We visited with cousins and my 81 year old aunt who told us amazing stories.  We laughed all day!   Stayed up all night looking for falling stars.  We found 162 bears in the cabin ----  how many can you find??
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 16-19, 2012 - Lucille Christina from Cheshire CT.  Temps cool with pleny of sun, sweet smelling.  Me and my sister dog sat while my neice and her husband went away for their 10th wedding anniversary for a day.  Love the dogs and feel its an honor and lots of love to stay with them.  We watched the landscaper put in the back terrace with flowers and mulch.  Good job they did.  No Bears thank goodness!  Favorite moments included seeing my older sister with her daughter, my neice at the airport when they picked me up.  A wonderful ride seeing the height of the mountains at Mt Mitchell and talking to the young girl at the souvenier counter.  Had a delicious lunch at lake Lure .  We enjoyed all the plain fun of visiting with each other talking person to person instead of hours by telephone.  Sat on the back deck with the sun on our faces and the wonderful dogs at our feet.  This is like another world and count my blessings and many fantastic memories.  Thank you for your generous invitation to stay at the cabin, visit my sister and the honor to help with your two blessed dogs.  I will remember this visit long and love you all.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 14-19, 2012 - Madalyn from Florida. Visited with my sister, Lucille Christina and again had the opportunity to be a guest of Blue Bear Cabin.   Temps in the 60's. We toured the Blue Ridge Mountains, spent a lovely drive enjoying the colors of the trees and warm temps.  Ate and slept well and talked and talked.   Dogs Amos and Katie Blue joined us.  Favorite moments with my daughter my best friend, her husband Mike and my sister - we enjoyed everything.    Landscape artists were here on Thursday and worked magic on the back yard making terraces.  Lovely.  Hate to leave the tranquility of Blue Bear and the happiness of being with family.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 8-12, 2012 - Linda & Bruce Andersen-MN; Dale & Lorraine Kemp-MI; Matt & Marilyn Palazzoro-WI
Mostly sunny, temps 60-70, cool at night.  We climbed to the top of Chimney Rock, hiked around Hooker Falls, Triple Falls.  Spent our last day at the Biltmore Mansion.  The cabin was wonderful- everything we could possibly need.  The view was spectacular! Everywhere we went, the people were so friendly.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 26-30, 2012 = Betty Lou, Patty, Mary, Scarlett;   Perfect 80 degree weather.  Visited Black Mountain, Biltmore, Chimney Rock, Hendersonville and the Blue Ridge Parkway.  Saw a spider on a hiking trail, looked for bears - no bear.
Enjoyed relaxing, drinking wine and sleeping in when not on the go!   Enjoyed a lot of great food, eating at Blackbird.  Cabin was great - we had our own bathroom!   So cute and cozy - loved everything. 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 31-August 5, 2012 - Nechama, Yossi, Matty, Chena, Tova, Eli, Leis;   Temps were in the low 80's during the day and
60's at night.  We went tubing, on a trolly tour of Asheville, Chimney Rock & Lake Lure.  Favorite moments included
sitting on the porch in the mornings and evenings, enjoying the beautiful view and spending time with our family.  We had a beautiful Shabbos together!    We love the way the cabin was decorated - so tastefully!   It is so cozy!
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 21 -28, 2012 - Brent & Ida;  Hot and Rainy with some fog.  We went to Mt Mitchell, Chimney Rock, Nantahala for
whitewater rafting, waterfalls(2), Asheville & Black Mountain downtown.  Ate at Maybels (Ashville), Louis's Kitchen (Black Mtn), Phils BBQ (Black Mtn) & cooked on the grill.   
We saw a mama bear with her baby bear, hummingbird on the porch, Giant green moth on the porch, black snake in back and many bees and wasps, a mama deer and baby.
Brent set a camera up each night to get time lapse photos of the stars.  They turned out to be incredible !!!
Favorite moments included Mt Mitchell hiking, cruising Blue Ridge Parkway, discovering Setrock Falls, & Falling Fork?? Rock Falls on North Caolina waterfalls website;  rafting Nantahala, enjoying breakfast with the hummingbird, Chimney Rock and Waterfall.  We loved our stay in the cabin.  It is perfectly located and so beautiful.  We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.  The website does not do the cabin justice.  The only problem we had was with bees and wasps.  They were everywhere and even got into the cabin.  However, everything else was fantastic!  The green moth from the pictures on the website even made a memorable visit.   The area is beautiful and the people were so friendly!  We will definitely be back!!   Thank you!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 15 - 21, 2012 - Beth, Mike, Jordan, Nathan from Tampa FL;  Sunny & beautiful 60's at night and low 80's in the day.
We spent two days rock climbing with Fox Mountain Guides at Chimney Rock.   Zip lines with Navitat.   Whitewater rafting on the Natahala.  Shopping at Chimney Rock & Black Mountain.   Highland Games for the day at Grandfather mtn.  We were non stop.   It was fabulous!
Saw a momma bear and two cubs, lots of turkeys, chipmunks and a couple of hummingbirds.  WOW!   Enjoyed relaxing on the porch and enjoying the sunsets.
Favorite moments included the Fox Mtn guides at Chimney Rock really Rock - no Kidding!  Best rock climbing guides ever!!!  Ask for Ron.  He gets 5 stars for pulling me up the mountain when I got stuck.  
Love the cabin.  I second all the earlier comments  - clean and cozy, decorated just the way I would have decorated it if it was my own.    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!  Best Wishes...
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 8-15, 2012 - Bryan & Cheryl, Cameron & Cadie, Emily, Jake (lab), Toby (bassett hound);  Rain everyday with temps
in 60's and 70's.   Enjoyed Sliding Rock, Linville Caverns, Asheville Mall, Chimney Rock, & Black Mountain.    We saw
wild turkeys on Rt 9, deer, lizards and lots of wasps.   Highlights included spending 1/2 hour at Sliding Rock Park before it
was closed due to weather.  Our last day the sun came out and we went to Chimney Rock.  We hiked to the waterfall and
it was worth the week of rain just to play in the waterfall.   Beautiful!!
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cabin with us.   It is so tastefully decorated and very cozy.  I also think it is
wonderful that it is dog friendly.   You have thought of everything to make guests feel right at home..
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
July 1-8, 2012 - Mama, Papa, Conrad, Jan, Jordan, Eve.   Weather rained some to cool it off.   Really Hot!   Visited
Chimney Rock in a hail storm, Lake Lure, Sliding Rock, Looking Glass Falls, Horseback Riding.   Visited Black Mountain,
Biltmore Estate, Asheville & Pisgah.  We saw chipmunks and a turtle but no bear:-(   ....
Some favorite moments included going down sliding rock, and the hail storm when visiting Chimney Rock barely making
it down the mountain and Dad ran into a hanging birdhouse with his head!  Very much like National Lampoon :-)
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at your cozy mountain cabin.  Starting and finishing the day overlooking the mountaintops
was both refreshing and relaxing.   Thank you for sharing your home.  Our family enjoyed our time here.   Many Blessings!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 27-July 1, 2012 - Joseph, Jack & Kirk.   Hot! Hot! Hot!  Golf, boating on Lake Lure, visiting Black Mountain, Straightaway Cafe (Great Place!), grilled, swimming, Chimney Rock.  Met with friends Kathy, Louie, Jim, Terri, Misty, Bill,
Gary twins at Straightaway Cafe.  Favorite moments included seeing a bear, finding Nitro Stout, playing good golf!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
June 11-15, 2012 - Billy & Judy, Fred & Frankie (Greenville, NC).  Temps in the 80's during the day and 50's at night. 
Explored Black Mountain and surrounding area, visited Chael of the Prodigal (Beautiful!) in Montreat, visited Biltmore
estate, Asheville & Chimney Rock.   We saw deer and came face to face upclose encounter with a hummingbird at the
cabin; wild turkeys, rabbits, and a most memorable sighting of a mother black bear and her two cubs!   
We love the cabin!  It is so warm, cozy and inviting and the decor is just perfect.  We enjoyed sitting on the back porch
enjoying the quiet surroundings.... watching the gentle rain and gazing at the beautiful stars, listening to the sounds of
nature and enjoying the wonderful view.
Thank you for sharing your cabin with us.  The four of us will always treasure our stay at Blue Bear Cabin!
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
May 20-25, 2012 - Patty & Tom (Madison, WI), Tedd & Jenna & Libby (Minneapolis, MN).  Weather was warm & rainy, last day was gorgeous.   We visited Chimney Rock, Blue Ridge Parkway, Black Mtn & Asheville.   We hiked, shopped and enjoyed the view.  Libby loved the porch.   We saw wild turkeys along the roads, and lizards.   Libby (our dog) heard "something".  Some of our favorite moments included  cooking, getting lost in the woods for 2.5 hours on Frying Pan Trail, the view from Exclamation Point and downtown Asheville.  We had a great time!   Thank you!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
May 17-20, 2012 - Jack, Julie, Jack, Jamie & Bandit.   Weather was low 50's @ night, mid 70's @ day - Beautiful!!
Went to downtown Asheville, Chimney Rock & town of Black Mtn.  We saw lizards on the split rail fence, salamanders at Hickory Nut Falls & Turkeys on Hwy 9.  No Bears!  Our favorite moments were family dinners on the back deck watching the sunset, and beautiful view!!     Relaxing, Laughing and having fun!   
Thank you so much for letting us be a part of your home (very beautiful).  It is nicely decorated, well kept & clean.  Kitchen is well equiped and loved the linens!  We really enjoyed our stay.    Thank  you again!  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
April 21-28, 2012 - The Jones Family; weather was cool, rainy and a little sunny.   We golfed, hiked, mountain biked, shopped, ate BBQ, cooked meals, golfed, rented a boat, fished, took photographs, went to Black Mtn & Asheville.
We saw a Red Fox!  Some of our favorite moments was Pisgah Brewing Co, Nature's Beauty and downtown Asheville.
Beautiful Cabin!
_________________________________________________________________________________________________

HAPPY NEW YEAR! - December 28, 2011 - January 1, 2012  The George Family; Atlanta & Watertown, TN
Beautiful temperatures, sunny & cool.   Some of our favorite moments were playing games by the fire, shopping in Black Mountain, breakfast at Morning Glory and running around the courtyard.  Relaxing with our family and enjoying the holidays! New Year's Eve dinner at the Straight Away Cafe!  We loved your cabin home!  You have done a great job making sure we were equipped for our vacation!  The Christmas Tree and holiday decorations were so nice too!   Thanks for having us stay at your mountain home!  It was a wonderful vacation!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

December 23, 2011 - December 27, 2011 - Tony & Peg, Charlotte, NC, and Tony & Niev, Washington DC and Shawn & Katie, Charlotte, NC.
Toured the Biltmore Estate, had a cocktail at Grove Park Inn at sunset, explored Asheville and Black Mountain.  Attended Christmas mass at the Basilica of St Lawrence.   The church was beautiful, the cabin is warm and cozy - the perfect family setting for a wonderful Christmas together!   Thankyou for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your beautiful cabin in such a picturesque setting.  We thoroughly enjoyed Asheville, Black Mountain and all the sites, but more than anything we appreciated the family time in the cozy, perfectly appointed cabin to relax, unwind and enjoy an old-fashioned family Christmas away from the hustle and bustle of the city!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

December 17, 2011 - December 21, 2011 - Edwin & Norma, Hemingway, SC, Keith, Bluffton, SC, Andy,Kerri, & Dylan from Turbeville, SC.
Explored Black Mountain, shopped in Asheville and visited the Grove Park Inn.  We had our family Christmas "a little early" so all the family could be together which made this place very special for us all.  The Christmas decorations you set out and the beautifully decorated Christmas Tree made it all the more special.
Our favorite moments was having all our family together for Christmas and sharing it in this beautiful cabin and setting!!!
Just spending time together as a family has been very special.  Also, we loved the Grove Park Inn and all the beautiful Christmas decorations.   
Thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautful home.  Your furnishings are very nice, your home is very clean and organized, and the Christmas decorations were perfect.  We have all enjoyed our stay at your lovely cabin.  It has been the perfect cabin for us.  We are all so impressed with your "Blue Bear Cabin"!  We LOVE IT! It has been the perfect cabin for our family Christmas.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
THE PERFECT MOUNTAIN RENTAL! - December 21, 2011 - Kristin, NC
We absolutely loved staying at this cabin! The rental process was extremely easy and the rental company was very thorough and organized including directions to the cabin and how to use the keyless entry... I didn't have to ask any questions because they gave me all the information from the beginning! Everything at the cabin was very clean and well-maintained. The kitchen was well-stocked. Overall the cabin felt very welcoming and we loved that the owners had it decorated with a few Christmas decorations. The views from the cabin were amazing and we felt it was a great location to be at ... Pretty close to asheville and the Black mountain area. We loved staying here and would absolutely go back!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
December 19, 2011 - December 11, 2011 - Jason, Kristen, Careb, Kinsey, Hurum, Sherry, Wake Forest, NC
We relaxed and enjoyed this beautiful home and visited the Biltmore Estate. 
Favorite moments were spending time together as a family and enjoying all the Christmas decorations at the Biltmore.
Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your beautiful home!  This has been one of our favorite vacation rentals we've ever stayed at.  We really enjoyed the Christmas decorations you put out.  The furnishings were wonderful and everything was so clean and well kept.  We really can't say enough how much we thoroughly enjoyed your home and how we appreciate how nice you have made it for your visitors!  Thanks so much!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
FANTASTIC!  DIDN'T WANT TO GO HOME! - November 30, 2011 - Maryland
We had a great time during our weeks stay! The Cabin is fabulous, very clean and very well decorated. The furniture and beds are very comfortable and it's very nice that sheets and towels are provided.
The kitchen is well supplied with everything we needed to prepare meals.
Everyone we spoke to at Greybeard Realty were really nice and helpful.
Thank you for the surprise Pumpkin Bread we found in the fidge!

We enjoyed some meals and shops in Black Mountain and had a great time hiking in Montreat. Also had a nice day in asheville.

Only problem we had in the cabin were wasps, which were easy to kill due to the unusually cold weather, just had to check before you sat down.
In all 1000% happy with the experience but disappointed I didn't see a bear !

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
November 20, 2011 - November 27, 2011 - The Dufranes from MD
The weather was 60's all week wonderful for hiking and porch sitting.  We explored Black Mountain - loved the Veranda and we bought a psaltry from "Song of the Woods" ` lovely music all week!
Our son lives in Asheville, so we met at Blue Bear Cabin for Thanksgiving. It was fun and challenging to prepare our traditional dinner at this charming cabin.  We enjoyed the atmosphere, the fire & football!
Favorite moments included hiking to Point Lookout in Montreat, a day in Asheville, sunset and star-gazing from the porch.  It was wonderful to meet the folks from Song of the Wood and watch Rick play the various instruments.  The solitude and quiet here is soothing and the views spectacular.  Your cabin is beautiful.  Every detail is perfect.  thank you for the good quality towels and sheets - much appreciated.  Thank you for sharing your home with us.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Alvy,NC - November 16, 2011
I was amazed from the Moment I arrived until My Departure!  After a failed attempt by my friends to book a cabin in Asheville for my 37th birthday, my brother learned of the news at the very last moment and decided that he and I should do it anyway.  Within 24 hrs we had luckily found Blue Bear Cabin and had reserved it for that very weekend.  The agents at Greybeard were excellent throughout the entire process.  Upon arriving to the cabin the very next day, I was amazed with the location of the cabin, the amazing views, and the excellent condition of the cabin.  I pride myself on paying very close attention to detail, and I was pleasantly surprised to see that the owners of the cabin and I had this trait in common.  They've thought of everything, and I often felt like I was a welcomed visitor to their home.  Everything was so tastefully done: quality of the decorations/furniture throughout the cabin, well stocked kitchen which included condiments and a Keurig machine w/drink supplies, extra linens, plenty of soft towels, laundry detergent, games, etc.  My brother and I brought many items that we didn't need as they were already supplied.  I even noticed that a full length mirror was also in the cabin, probably was a result of feedback from a previous review.  I definitely felt at home and had a very relaxing weekend.  I would recommend this cabin to anyone and hope to return again very soon.  I love Blue Bear Cabin!!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 28, 2011 - October 31, 2011 - The Padgetts of Atlanta & the Hendrys of Charleston.
The weather was very nice in the 50's and cooler at night.  Enjoyed refreshing time as couples.  Went to top of Climbing Rock, strolled downtown Black Mountain, lunch at the edgy and delicious Tupelo Honey in Asheville. 
Favorite moments were waiting for a table at Tupelo Honey and wondering if the "costumes" of the locals walking by were for Halloween or just another day in downtown Asheville.....
Cabin is clean and well equipped. 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
October 16, 2011 - October 21, 2011 - Chipley, Fla, & Clarks Summit, Pa
Weather was in the low 80's then changed to 50's during the day with 30's at night. 
Met my daughter and her husband and 2 dogs.  Took long up hill walks, enjoyed the colors of fall, grilled for dinner and enjoyed the back deck. 
Favorite moments included warm breezy nights on the back deck - beautiful fall colors while relaxing and reading.  Slept well enjoying being in the mountains again.  The view is ever changing.  Snow on the caps when it got cooler.  Colors bright in the sunshine.  Lovely time, lovely cabin, lovely home.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

September 18, 2011 - September 24, 2011 - The Lawson family from UK and Virginia
Weather was mainly 60's and rainy.  Highlights included Grandfather Mountain, Mt Mitchell & Lake Lure.  Also Asheville, Henderson & the Biltmore Estate.
Favorite moments included the Mile High bridge at Grandfather Mtn, breakfast at Morning Glory and dinner at Larkins on the Lake (Lake Lure), View from Mt Mitchell, boat trip around Lake Lure.  Also, sitting on the back deck watching the clouds drift by! Great Porch!   Least favorite was the Biltmore Estate - grossly overpriced for what you saw.

_____________________________________________________________________________________
Judy-
Lynchburg, VA
Relaxing with a homey feel...
Left on 09/14/2011 for a stay in September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin very much. It was a very relaxing stay and the cabin had a very homey feel to it. We would stay there again if planning a trip to that area. Only negative is that it is a ride to any shopping or restaurants. So be prepared to bring your provisions in with you.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
September 10, 2011 - September 12, 2011 - Dragheim family from Denmark
Weather was in the 80's.   We visited Chimney Rock, Asheville nature park, and Asheville Outdoor Center.  Enjoying the porch and the beautiful view!
Favorite moments included Chimney Rock and rafting.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Joy W
Suwanee, GA

Great Late Summer Stay in Secluded but "Close Enough" Cabin

Left on 09/07/2011 for a stay in August 2011

We had a wonderful long weekend stay at Blue Bear cabin in late august 2011. The house is secluded but close enough to drive easily to Black Mountain, Asheville and Bat Cave/Chimney Rock/Lake Lure. I partcipated in an open water swim on Lake Lure and I was so happy I chose to stay in Black Mountain and at this cabin rather then in Rumbling Bald resort (with the crowds). The house was very well furnished and comfortable. We cooked a few meals in the kitchen which was very well stocked and also the gas grill on the deck was great. We found a binder book with all the details to know what we needed about the house including the internet access codes and all - it was very well organized and very helpful. Also the free long distance was very nice and helpful since our cell phones did not pick up any signal and I wanted to touch base with my family on the east coast due to hurricaine Irene. All in all the house was comfortable, clean and very nicely organized for guests to know everything needed to enjoy the stay. On top of all that the privacy and views were extraordinary and appreciated. A few things that may help future renters - these are not problems but just good things to know: * The house is off of Hwy 9 which is a winding mountain road * Cell phone reception is not available for at&T; service and was not available until I reached the town of Black Mountain - but the house phone is available and free for long distance. In addition the internet access was very helpful. * There is a gas grill and the owners are nice to provide an additional gas tank in the basement (very thoughtful). * There is not a lot of flat land around the house so if you bring pets there is not a lot of area to walk them -however the deck is closed off at both ends so pets may roam the deck without any worry about them running away.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes __________________________________________________________________________________________________

August 29, 2011 - September 1, 2011 - Lower Alabama
Temperatures were great - a welcome relief from 100's in lower Alabama!
We did a lot of sightseeing and shopping.  There were five of us.  Enjoyed sitting on the back porch back in the morning and evening.  So quiet and peaceful!
Favorite moments included spending the quiet times together after a long day of shopping and seeing the beautiful mountains and views, also the great food. 
The cabin was great!  It was very comfortable and we had a lovely view.  We all enjoyed it very much.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sandi
Statesville, NC

Secluded refuge nestled in the trees on the side of a mountain.

Left on 08/26/2011 for a stay in June 2011

This cabin is new, clean and lovely. It is very nicely furnished. The beds are firm (to the extreme) and there is lots of closet room. If you want to get away from everything and relax, this is the place to go! Yet it is close enough to Black Mountain to be convenient.

Would you recommend this vacation rental to a friend? Yes

  • Recommended for: Travelers, Friends, Romantic, Luxury, Rugged 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

August 16- 2011 - August 20, 2011.  Marion, Dick & Shasha - Charlston, SC.
The weather was perfect!  Sasha our white siberian husky loved the deck and was always hearing and seeing something "out there".  We explored various areas and cocktails on the deck at sunset!
Our favorite moment was at our arrival to find a cabin so beautiful and beyond our expectations.  Being from Charlston, SC, we've made previous trips to the mountains of North Carolina - always a pleasure - However, this cabin was simply fabulous and the town of Black Mountain was charming and made us feel so welcome, especially Sasha who was fussed over wherever she went.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 14, 2011 - August 16, 2011 - Tom & Barbara Daytona Beach, Fla; Susan Easley, SC;
Weather was overcast in AM, 80's in afternoons.  We enjoyed the beautiful sunsets, the cool mornings, Black Mountain shopping, visit to Asheville, minature golf, your beautiful cabin.
Favorite moments included enjoying dinner on back porch and sunsets and a good nights sleep!  My favorite - the complimentary loaf of bread - my all time favorite!  Your cabin is a beautifully decorated and built house we have seen - have enjoyed ourselves this visit and hope to be back soon!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
August 7, 2011 - August 14, 2011 - Pete & Elsie, and our golden retrievers Eli & Sara ,Murrells Inlet, SC.
Weather was great - sunny and clear no humidity, thunder in the distance and a couple of showers.
We spent most of our time visiting friends and saw everyone on our list.  We had lived here 1997-1999 and kept in touch with friends through the years.  One of our previous neighbors came and had lunch with us on the deck. 
Our favorite moments included all our visits, eating at the Veranda, shopping at our friend's pottery shop (Garrou Pottery, Cherry St), catching up on all the news and most of all - Sitting on the Back Deck !!
Thank you for your home.  It was beyond our expectations.  View spectacular.  The deck being enclosed was perfect for dogs to sit outside with us.  Just really loved every part of your home and our time here.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

July 16, 2011 - July 22, 2011 - Nathan, Amanda, Brad, Laura
Weather stayed about 84-85 degrees throughout the day and sprinkled a little in the evening.
Visited Grandfather Mountain, Chimney Rock, downtown Asheville, and the town of Black Mountain itself.  We also caught six two pound trout at the Grandfather Mountain Trout Farm.
Favorite moments included the view of Lake Lure and the valley from Exclamation Point at Chimney Rock was pretty marvelous.  It has to be a pretty clear day though.
The cabin is beautifully furnished and exceedingly well equipped (Keurig, hammock).  The view of the sunset from the porch is breathtaking.   All in all I'm sad to see it go.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

July 10, 2011 - July 16, 2011- Margarita, Enrico & Eleanor
Weather was 85-90 f for the first days, then rain came and cooled us off.
We enjoyed hiking in the area, the wonderful restaurants in Black Mountain & Asheville (try the laughing leaf even if you are not a vegetarian!), the concert at Lake Tomahawk on Thursday night, etc..   There is a LOT this whole region can offer.
Favorite moments included a hike in the Craggy Gardens.
We thought your cabin was charming and very comfortable.  Thank you for letting us call it "home" for a week!
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

July 4th Week - Jeremy, Heather, Jason, Shirley, Jared & Maria
Weather warm, nice, and breezy.
We hiked to Triple Falls & Hooker Falls, hung around and had a blast.  Went to downtown Asheville.
Favorite moments included the waterfalls, and just hanging out and being together.
This house was perfect!  We definetely plan to come back.  Thanks for letting us enjoy your great home!
_______________________________________________________________________________________________

  • June 12, 2011 (Rating 0 to 10 with 10 Best, 0 Worst):
        How would you rate the overall condition of the home?   10
        The overall condition of the furniture?  10
        Was the kitchen equipped adequately?  10
        Would you re-book this home in the future? YES
        Greybeard Realty(property manager):
        How was our responsiveness to your phone call/inquiry?  10
        Handling of the booking process?  10
        Description of the home?  10
        Cleanliness of the home?  10
        Would you recommend us to others?  YES
        Your favorite local activity or place to eat?   Lake Lure

    ____________________________________________________________________________________________
    June 20, 2011:
    We would definitely rent this cabin again.  Wonderful log cabin - very, very clean, great layout, nicely furnished, nice kitchen accessories, great porch & deck, beautiful view from back deck, very nice gas grill, beautiful hardwood floors & really comfortable furniture.  Appreciate the asphalt paved driveway, albeit very steep.  Would not have wanted to traverse that in gravel.  Nice remote location away from other houses and away from town, but near enough to Black Mountain, Asheville, & Lake Lure to do things in a short drive.  We really loved this cabin.  The notebook of information you provided was very helpful.  Thank you for the loaf of bread.  We enjoyed it.  That was a nice touch.  

       _______________________________________________________________________________________________

        June 17, 2011 - June 20, 2011 - Steve & Karen; Grayslake, IL, Jason & Taylor; Atlanta, Ga
        Weather was warm and stormy.
        We enjoyed the back deck, hiked off the Blue Ridge Parkway, explored Black Mountain, Bat Cave, Chimney Rock.
        Saw a Bobcat wondering in the clearing below.  Saw a hummingbird on the deck.
        Favorite moments watching the sunset on the deck.  Enjoying a great steak dinner, spending 6 hours without power 
        or water - not fun! Bad storms rolled in and blew threw here on Saturday and Sunday.
        Thanks for sharing your home.  It is beautiful and we loved it!
        _______________________________________________________________________________________________

        June 13, 2011 - June 15, 2011 - Kim, Craig, Toby/Diesel
        Weather was perfect for early summer - cool mornings great! 
        We hiked trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway  - went to Lake Lure, walked around - mostly sat on the back deck and 
        enjoyed the views.
        Favorite moments included the Silence!  Thank you for sharing your home with our family.  We loved it!
        ________________________________________________________________________________________________

        May 4, 2011 - May 9, 2011 - Madalyn, Chipley Fla
        Temperatures was 40-50 nights; 60-70 days.
        Enjoyed the moderate temps, fantastic views, great shopping in the little towns.
        Enjoyed time with my daughter, my friend.
        Favorite moments were the quiet times and the views constantly changing - our lunch times, shopping and laughing 
        together.  Spending Mother's Day together for the first time in years.  
        Mother's Day, May 8th, 2011 a special time with just my daughter and me.  Enjoying silly things and just being 
        together.  Always stopping to enjoy the view.  I hope to be returning again and again.
        Our adventures to Black Mountain, Asheville and Lake Lure contained many culinary delights.  The weather has been
        perfect - cool nights and warm days.  The mountain Laurel and Rhododendrums and dog wood are in bloom.  The 
        peace is so absolute.  No stress, no worries. 
        Blue Bear Cabin will always be special to me and have a special place in my heart.

        ________________________________________________________________________________________________

        The Start !

         

 

 

 

 

 

Website Builder